New Art Quilt: “Leo Looking out”

I have decided to keep posting on here as it is very cold and lonely over on WordPress.org!. No one sees you over there….

I finished my first proper art quilt for the year this week, it is based on a photo of my nephew Leo at the beach, taken by my clever brother from Sydney Images. He flies around in planes and helicopters and takes amazing photos of Sydney (my brother, not my nephew!)

I started my layering the fabrics .. sorry, I forgot to take a photo before I started stitching, too excited to get going.

Stitching Textile art quilt, Leo Looking out, beach scene

Then I started stitching all over it in multiple colours

Stitching Textile art quilt, Leo Looking out, beach scene

Stitching Textile art quilt, Leo Looking out, beach scene

The figure was appliqued on once the background was stitched.

The finished piece

Textile art quilt, Leo Looking out, beach scene by Rebekah Dundon

Textile art quilt, Leo Looking out, beach scene by Rebekah Dundon

leoheadclosesmall

7 thoughts on “New Art Quilt: “Leo Looking out”

What do you think?

