Framed textile art: Bird of Paradise

I had a request on my Facebook page recently to make some Bird of Paradise and other tropical flowers. So today was the day to start. I thought I’d try a slightly different way of doing them. I normally just use small bits of fabric to make of my design, this time I thought I’d try making the body of the design with raw edge fused applique.

I started with a simple line drawing, based on a painting that I did many years ago when I was a painter.. You can see the original painting in the top image. The original is long gone so all I have left are printouts of photos. I traced  sections of the flowers from the line drawing and fused then to the correct colour fabric with vliesofix.

Textile art quilt, bird of paradise

I really like the background of that painting, the way the blues and greens blend together, and wanted to achieve a similar affect with the art quilt. I decided to use a gorgeous printed sheer fabric (I scored a lovely huge piece of this brand new from the local Op Shop!). It has a fabulous texture and sheen to it. I used the wrong side as my front though, to tone down the sheen and the bright colours a little. I layered it over a soft pale blue cotton, so that it would gain an extra blue tinge. I used a little quilters spray glue to hold it together as the sheer fabric is very slippery!.

Textile art quilt, bird of paradise

I then fused my cut flower pieces to my background. Of course my flower turned out the reverse of the painting as I forgot to reverse the image before tracing!.

Textile art quilt, bird of paradise

 And then started to stitch.. then stitched some more

Textile art quilt, bird of paradise

Then stitched some more until it was all finished

Textile art quilt, bird of paradise

It then went into a black box frame and came out like this

Textile art quilt, bird of paradise

3 thoughts on “Framed textile art: Bird of Paradise

What do you think?

