Bloggers Quilt Festival Spring 2013: Wallhanging

The Bloggers Quilt Festival is on again!. You know what that means?.. pages of gorgeous quilts to drool over. This year we can enter not one but two quilts!. I have decided to enter the Wall hanging and Art Quilt categories.

Here is my Wallhanging.. “Looking Out the Window”

Looking Out the Window

Looking Out the Window

This quilt was made for the National Wool Museum: Expressions 2012 competition, in which it reached the finals. The brief for this competition was to make a quilt out of a majority of wool fabrics.

I decided to go with something bright and graphic, to get away from the traditional uses and colouring of wool.

I made a  randomly pieced patchwork of soft 100% wool fabrics, ..you know how I like random!. It is free motion quilted with variegated thread in concentric circles to contrast against the linear construction of the patchwork. The white circle is an applique of wool felt. The backing is an upcycled vintage wool blanket and is bound with a gorgeous aqua brushed cotton. I couldn’t get wool batting within the time frame so it is quilted onto bamboo batting.

It measures 102 x 82.5 cm ( 40 x 32.5 IN)

Quilt 2

As part of the exhibition we also had to make a mini quilt with the fabrics and techniques to go onto a touch table. This was so that people could feel the textures of the quilts. A fabulous idea! I wish I had been able to go to the exhibition to see and touch for myself..unfortunately it was over 2000kms away so just wasn’t going to happen!

Here is my touch table quilt.

daylight-1

10 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival Spring 2013: Wallhanging

    • The fabric shop I went to is very disorganised, rolls of fabric just piled up on top of each other!. I went to the big mound of wool fabrics and each of these just leaped out at me. I guess this was helped by the fact that they were mixed in with all the usual wool browns and greys. I decided then and there that it was going to be bright!!

What do you think?

