More experiments with randomness

I’ve been playing with some new techniques again today. I love the randomness of randomness so I have been randomly stitching strips of fabrics together then randomly stitching and cutting  those strips. I wanted to try to get the hang of curves in the fabric as well as inserts so my randomness included both of these.

I have used just about every blue fabric in my stash, from vintage sheets to bits of upcycled clothing to canvas and quilting cotton. The red strips are satin that has been folded and inserted, so that it stands out from the cloth. It’s a great way to use up some of my vast stash of fabrics.

At the moment it is nothing more than a piece of fabric, I wanted to sample these techniques for an idea I had for the next competition that I want to enter..I have a few lined up this year!

free-1

Excuse the stray threads, I haven’t really finished with it yet. This is just a small section, I got a bit carried away so it is quite a large piece. I may well quilt it up and see what happens….

One thought on “More experiments with randomness

  1. Wow! How random is that! I LOVE it! I heard an iterview on the radio yesterday with a woman called Jane Whiteley. She is a very big wheel in the Art Quilt spectrum. Look her up on the net. Go Beck!!

What do you think?

