Amy’s Creative Side: Bloggers Quilt Festival

 

I have decided to enter my Art Quilt “Looking Out” into the Fall Bloggers Quilt Festival. This is a fabulous festival of Quilts, there is always some amazing work to be drooled over!

Here is “Looking Out”. This piece was based on a photo I took at our local beach. I loved the combination of colours, the old man’s striped jumper and the posture, gazing out into the distance.

 

It is made from a wide range of different fabrics free motion quilted onto  cotton batting with a plain cotton backing fabric. The various fabrics are layered and stitched to create the textures of the sand and waves. The figure was digitally printed onto white felt to create a pale outline to follow then thread painted by machine and appliqued onto the background. It measures  48.5 cm (19 in) x 63 cm (25in).

19 thoughts on “Amy’s Creative Side: Bloggers Quilt Festival

  1. This is just gorgeous, the water, the reflection, the texture, all of it! What really gets me is the feeling of peace and calm that I get as soon as I look at it. Great Work!

  2. Voting in bloggers’ quilt festival I found this, and had to come and see it more clearly. It’s stunning, so real sight, you feel like being at that relaxing place. My vote for this as the best!

  3. I really do love this quilt – maybe its ’cause it reminds me of Lake Erie in the Summer – I nominated it and voted for it this week! I would love it if you would link up this week on my Off the Wall Fridays where art quilters have been connecting – we’ve found it both inspiring and motivating! We run it on my blog every Friday – so come over and post any week!

  4. Pingback: Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Winners!! | Amy's Creative Side

What do you think?

