Textile: Gum leaf with spots

This week I decided to go back to painting on felt. I painted a copy of a drawing I did many years ago, based on a photo I took of a diseased gum leaf. The colours were so beautiful I couldn’t resist. The sad thing was that the leaf was probably going to die from the disease.

I painted the leaf onto wool felt then machine stitched the details then did a series of french knots by hand for the fungus.  It is quilted onto bamboo batting with a quilters cotton border and vintage fabric back

I decided to give it a really simple border as there is a fair bit of detail in the leaf. It is hard to see from the pictures but I have quilted the border in leaf shapes reminiscent of the large leaf.

 

Or maybe it goes this way?

2 thoughts on “Textile: Gum leaf with spots

What do you think?

