Cityscape Textile

I am using upcycled upholstery sample books to experiment with new techniques at the moment. This is building up to creating a major work for a competition in a couple of months. The fabric that I have purchased for it is quite expensive and I am really scared to cut into it just yet!!. As the sample books are very cheap, I am using them as my experiment fabrics. Cheap = not scared.

For this next piece, I wanted to try weaving with fabric strips. The pieces I used are actually the edge bits, cut off the main pieces as they had tape around the edge of them so had become a slightly different colour to the body of each sample piece. I almost threw them out, then in the spirit of re-using, decided to weave them instead. This fabric is an upholstery weight satin so it has a beautiful lustrous sheen.. a bit hard to tell in these photos.

 

 

 

 

I really like how quick and easy this process is, not having to sew together all those little squares is great.

What do you think?

