Seurat inspired Textile Art

I have been interested in the work of Seurat lately. I particularly like how the paintings are made up of a series of dots and wanted to try to replicate this in textiles. I therefore cut up lots of  fabric into very small pieces. I decided to go for a very simple design to start with so chose a beach photo I had taken from an angle, so that the horizon seemed to meet the sand. This is my end result.

 

 

 

 

I quite like the resulting texture, although it was fiddly working with all those little bits of fabric, they kept catching on my free motion foot and peeling up!

I also finished another quilt today..one I don’t like quite so much but it just needed binding so I did it. I may still do something else with it but for now it’s out of my UFO pile.

 

2 thoughts on “Seurat inspired Textile Art

What do you think?

