Oranges and Lemons: Fun with spraying and stamping

A few days ago, my two youngest sons were both out having fun with friends, leaving me and my big boy at home alone. We decided to have some fun with spraying and stamping!. I collected a bunch of white and off white fabrics from my stash and we decorated them using acrylic paint and water.

We trialled a wide variety of techniques..all from bits and bobs we found around the home. Some were more successful than others but we had a lot of fun, although we now have large orange rectangles sprayed on the lawn!!

Here are some of the pieces we made:

The point of all this was to make some unique pieces of fabric that could be incorporated into a quilt. I cut these up ( much to my sons disgust!..how could I do that to his masterpieces!)  mixed in some commercial and vintage fabric and randomly stitched them all together.

This piece was then hand and machine stitched, embroidered and couched. I added a bright green border and it was dome.

You’d never know that a bunch of those fabrics were painted by a 10 year old!

4 thoughts on “Oranges and Lemons: Fun with spraying and stamping

What do you think?

