Silk scarf Quilting

I suddenly had a spare hour yesterday, when hubby and the boys were caught up doing something. So what do I do with spare hours…sew of course!. I didn’t have anything already started to go on with, and I knew that I would only have a short time, so didn’t really have enough time to start anything big, so I thought I’d try something that had been on the back of my mind for a while.

I have a small pile of silk scarves, some new(ish) and some vintage. Now I am not a scarf person, I think I just don’t really know what to do with them. I have also never really sewn with silk before, so I thought I’d kill two birds with one stone (horrible phrase!!). I decided to just quilt one of the scarves and see what happened.

I don’t really like this one much, but I do really like the colours so I thought I’d start with this one so it didn’t matter if I destroyed it! I basically just stitched around the various parts, coloured in some bits and left some plain. I even added a bit of shiny,shiny,gold, another newbie for me as I haven’t used metallic thread before.

This is how it came out.

I really like the texture that has been created, it really makes certain parts of it pop. I think it has also brought out the colours more. I have no idea what I am going to do with it now, I haven’t bound it or anything like that yet, just waiting for the right use to come to me. I was thinking maybe a bag. It was fun to do anyway and now I know what it’s like to stitch on silk.  Just a thought…maybe a cushion…mmmm.

6 thoughts on “Silk scarf Quilting

  1. I really like what happened when you quilted the scarf. I’m not a fan of the original scarf but really like it quilted up!

  2. I have a large silk batik piece that I would like to quilt and maybe add some accent beading. Subject is a pair of Balinese dancers. What type/weight of batting did you use? I have been told that one must use silk thread to quilt something of this nature. Your opinion?

    • Hi, I used 100% cotton batting, mainly because it was what I had to hand. I just used normal sewing cotton. I did use a fine needle in the machine as thicket needles can damage the silk and make it run.

What do you think?

