A new Quilting Challenge …or two

Firstly, sorry that I missed my usual Tuesday Treasury yesterday, I am having a very busy week and just haven’t had a chance to spend the time searching on the computer! The rest of this week is also busy so I may just have to give it a miss this week.

Secondly,I have decided to put myself out there, and give myself a challenge at the same time by entering two quilting competitions. The first is a local one. It is still quite big though and covers a range of mediums. I have a bit more freedom in content with this one so it is probably the easiest.

The second is quite big. It is the 2012 Wool Quilt Prize. The challenge here is to make a quilt with a majority of wool components. I have never really worked with wool before and you can basically use any type of wool, just as long as it is wool. The possibilities are endless!

I am bit nervous but excited at the same time. I thought that by entering, it would make me really think about what I was doing with all this, and be a step towards being serious about making quilts. The challenge for me is making something to a brief, I’ve never been terribly good at that as I tend to make things up as I go along, but I’m excited about the process and already have some plans about what I am going to do.

I think this will be good for me in so many ways, regardless of the outcome. I have never been terribly good at putting myself or my work out there for the world to see and this is my year for doing that, to see what happens.

Both the competitions are a few months away so it is a long process but we’ll see how I go. I’ll keep you updated with my progress. Wish me luck!

What do you think?

