The new project

The new project

So I have decided on my next major project. It is quite different from what I have done before as it is going to be very bold and graphic. My gorgeous brother from http://www.markmerton.com.au/ has allowed me to use this image of the Opera House. Mark takes amazingly gorgeous aerial photos, mainly of Sydney but also others from around Australia and the world. (click the photo above to see more of his great photos)
I love this one because of the colours and the way the building is simplified down to its basic shapes. I grew up in Sydney and haven’t lived there for many years so there is also a bit of a sentimental attachment to this famous icon.
I have some ideas about what I am going to do to create this quilt and I will probably making a bit up as I go along as well!
I will show you step by step as I go but it will probably take a little time to get my fabrics together to start, but it will be a fun journey.

What do you think?

