In the Beginning

Since this a journey through life, I thought that I should start right at the very beginning, my first experiences with stitching. This little sampler with it’s sweet little house was my very first, I stitched this at around four years of age and loved every second of it…it did take a while!Image

The other images here were all completed around the ages of 6 – 8 when I was well and truly involved with stitching. I was part of a weekly stitching group so many more pieces were made, sadly lost over the aeons of time that has passed since then!ImageImage

Yes, I know there are dirty marks and signs of lack of care, but these pieces were used for a while, washed and loved..and then popped in a box for many years.

I am now bringing them back out into the light and may well use them in a creation some day soon. Just need to decide the perfect thing to keep them safe so that I still have them when I’m 80.

This bottom set was a Mother’s Day gift for my mum, made when I was about 8…yes, showing my age there, I think you can tell what decade we are talking about here!…. At some point it was obviously put in the wash with something red, so now has a lovely pinkish hue!…I don’t even know who crocheted the edges for me..it wasn’t me, I have never seemed to master crochet!. I may make a new Mother’s Day gift out of them now!

So that was the beginning. The middle has been filled with many years of happy creating..not always in stitches. I did do a stint with power tools and wood and rusty metal !! But now my new journey begins……I hope you’ll share it with me.Image

What do you think?

